Skip to content

Permissions

Users have different abilities depending on the permissions you assign to them.

Administrators

Administrators are users with extended permissions. They can create and manage apps and teams, invite and remove users and assign permissions.

By default, any member of the Administrators team is an administrator but you may grant the administrator role to any number of teams. To do so, select a team in the Admin console and go to its settings:

Team settings

Notes

As a safety, you cannot remove the administrator role from a team when it's the only administrator team you belong to, nor can you leave it. If you no longer wish to be an administrator, ask another administrator to make the change for you.

Accessing Apps

Who can access an app is determined by its visibility. This is configured in the the app's General settings.

Private Apps

By default, a new app has the private visibility. This means only administrators and users who have been explicitly allowed may see and download it.

Granting Access to Users

To grant users access to your application, go to the Permissions tab of the app's settings and click Add user or Add team.

Adding a team to an app

Internal Apps

Apps with the internal visibility are visible to all authenticated users. The users need to have been previously invited by an administrator in the Admin console and must sign in before they can see the app.

App Passwords

If you don't want to create individual accounts for all your users, you may allow anonymous users to access an internal app by adding a password. Go to the Permissions tab of the app's settings and click Add Password.

Adding a password to an app

Then you just need to communicate that password and the app's URL to your users. They will be asked to enter the password the first time they try to access the app.

Password verification

Once an unauthenticated user has entered a valid password, the app becomes visible for them.

Note

The permission will remain until they clear their cookies or until you invalidate the password.

Public Apps

Apps with the public visibility are visible to anyone, without any authentication.

Warning

Anybody with the URL of your Shuttle server may see your public apps and download them.